ARROWHEAD UNION HIGH SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF EDUCATION MEETING SEPTEMBER 10, 2014 MINUTES

The meeting was called to order by President LeBlanc at 7:00 p.m. in the District Office Board Room.

Everyone rose for the Pledge of Allegiance.

Members present: Joe LeBlanc, Bob Rosch, Sue Schultz (arrived at 7:49 p.m.), Craig Thompson, Donna Beringer, Dave

Dean (arrived at 7:28 p.m.), Tim Langer, Al Zietlow

Unable to attend: Kent Rice

Administration present: Craig Jefson, Steve Kopecky, Mary Ann Beckman, Sue Casetta, Bonnie Laugerman, Gregg

Wieczorek

The meeting was properly posted.

Moved by Rosch, seconded by Zietlow to approve the minutes of the August 13, 2014, Regular Board meeting and the August 20, 2014, Annual Meeting as presented. <u>Motion Carried.</u>

Moved by Langer, seconded by Thompson to approve the operating bill list and pay vouchers 814, 140764-140894, and 201400051-201400092 in the amount of \$1,433,051.93 and to approve credit card expenditure transactions as presented in the amount of \$198,741.52. Motion Carried.

CITIZEN COMMUNICATIONS AND COMMENTS - None.

SUPERINTENDENT'S REPORT -

Mr. Wieczorek reported that the start of school is going very well and noted the positive effect of several student initiatives, including the WINGS program, opening day video, Positive Behavior Interventions and Supports (PBIS), and School Learning Objective (SLO). He also noted the resulting benefits of the recently remodeled greeter/welcome center areas located within the North and South Campus main offices.

Mr. Jefson reported on the district's efforts to find qualified long-term substitute teachers and the necessity to offer a more competitive rate of compensation in certain circumstances.

In accordance with the 2011 Wisconsin Act 125 requirements, Dr. Beckman presented to the Board of Education, "The Use of Seclusion and Physical Restraint in Schools" report for Arrowhead Union High School as of September 1, 2014.

CURRICULUM - The next Curriculum Committee meeting is scheduled for September 23, 2014, at 7:00 a.m.

FINANCE & LEGISLATION – Chairperson Thompson reviewed four bids received this morning for short-term borrowing and accepts the recommendation from administration that the short-term borrowing note be secured from Robert W. Baird & Co. Incorporated, the lowest bidder.

Mr. Dean arrived at this time.

Moved by Zietlow, seconded by Thompson to approve the "Resolution Authorizing Temporary Borrowing In Amount Not To Exceed \$3,770,000.00, Pursuant to Section 67.12(8)(a)1, Wis. Statutes," as presented, and secure the Tax and Revenue Anticipation Promissory Note from Robert W. Baird & Co. Incorporated. Aye – 6 and Abstain – 1 (Dean). Motion Carried.

BUILDINGS & GROUNDS – No meeting.

Chairperson Zietlow provided an update regarding the status of Buildings and Grounds projects that have been or will soon be completed. Mr. Jefson also shared additional pre-renovation information regarding the North Campus girls and boys lower locker room areas, along with proposed minor revisions to the remodeling design.

The next Buildings and Grounds Committee meeting is scheduled for October 1, 2014, at 7:00 a.m.

PERSONNEL - Chairperson Rosch reported on the July 1, 2014, meeting.

ARROWHEAD UNION HIGH SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF EDUCATION MEETING September 10, 2014 – MINUTES Page 2

Moved by Zietlow, seconded by Thompson to approve the following individuals to be recipients of the 2014 Arrowhead Award, as recommended by the Personnel Committee: Tony Antony, Lisa Dlobik, Steve Kopecky, Bonnie Laugerman, Jim LaVoi (Bergman), Steve Melzer, Pete Nejedlo, and Joe LeBlanc. Aye – 6 and Abstain – 1 (LeBlanc). Motion Carried.

POLICY - The next Policy Committee meeting is scheduled for September 18, 2014, at 7:00 a.m.

WASB – Mr. Zietlow noted that the 2014 WASB Fall Regional meeting for Regions 11 and 15 is scheduled for September 18, 2014, at the Country Springs Hotel in Pewaukee, and the 2014 WSAA/WASB Employment and School Law Seminar is scheduled for October 16 and 17, 2014, in Wisconsin Dells.

Mr. Zietlow also noted that he has been selected to serve on the WASB Policy and Resolutions Committee. This committee evaluates the resolutions submitted by WASB member boards and determines which resolutions will advance to the next Delegate Assembly.

CESA – Mr. Zietlow reported that the next CESA #1 Board of Control meeting is scheduled for September 16, 2014.

Moved by Langer, seconded by Rosch that pursuant to State Statute 19.85(1)(b)(c)(e), the Board of Education will move into closed session and reconvene to address public business matters:

• Personnel matters

Roll Call Vote: Langer – aye, Thompson – aye, Zietlow – aye, Beringer – aye, LeBlanc – aye, Rosch – aye, Dean – aye. Motion Carried.

Ms. Schultz arrived at the start of closed session.

Moved by Zietlow, seconded by Dean to move into open session.

Roll Call Vote: Beringer – aye, Dean – aye, Langer – aye, LeBlanc – aye, Rosch – aye, Schultz – aye, Thompson – aye, Zietlow – aye. Motion Carried.

NEW BUSINESS:

At this time, the Board of Education took no action in regard to agenda item XIII. A. 1. Employee Transactions – Terminations.

Moved by Zietlow, seconded by Dean to accept the following resignations: Sharon Blake, effective for the start of the 2014/2015 school year; Jodi Schober, effective August 22, 2014; Robert Pulkowski (aide position), effective August 20, 2014, and David Merrell, effective August 26, 2014, as presented. Motion Carried.

Moved by Dean, seconded by Rosch to approve the 2014/2015 new professional staff contract for Terry Neumann-Hayes (World Languages, .5 FTE); to approve the 2014/2015 cocurricular contract for Brian Griffin (Asst. Boys Soccer Coach), Kathryn Fulton (Asst. Girls Field Hockey Coach), Lori Barbee (Niche Club Advisor), and John Dolphin (Musical Set Construction); to approve the 2014/2015 confidential support staff letter of appointment for Susan Moore (Transportation Director); and to approve the 2014/2015 support staff letter of appointment for Deb Bredeson (Greeter), Cindy Musbach (Library Aide), Ann Kohr (Study Hall Aide), Mark Nihoris (Study Hall Aide), Melissa DeJesus (Study Hall/Lunch Room Aide), Paula Nicholson (Switchboard/Welcome Center), Rhonda Zolinski (Switchboard/Welcome Center), John Kircher (Custodian), and Heather Slepawic (Custodian), as presented. Motion Carried.

FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS – None presented.

Moved by Zietlow, seconded by Thompson to adjourn. Motion Carried.

The meeting adjourned at 8:40 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Diane Hoag Recording Secretary